La commanderie de Chwarszczany

Original texts of Błażej Skaziński : Project Szlak Templariuszy

Translation : Agnieszka Staf & Andrew Zolnai

La chapelle de Chwarszczany
Diaporama en bas de page
Poland, Województwo Zachodnio Pomorskie

Poland, West Pomeranian Voivodeship (Wojewˇdztwo Zachodniopomorskie), 45 km west of Gorzˇw Wielkopolski, 12 km north of Kostrzyn, 100 km east of Berlin (Germany).

In 1232, the Templars obtained from Władysław Odonicz(1), Prince of Greater Poland, 1000 łan(2) of land in the Kostrzyn region, near the village of Chwarszczany, in a curve of the river Myśla.

Location area (blue square) of the Templar estates in today's western Poland - © AgnŔs Staf
Location area (blue square) of the Templar estates in today's western Poland - © AgnŔs Staf

The Knights Templar then settled in this region on the border between Pomerania, Greater Poland and the Brandenburg March for military reasons. They must defend it, pacify it and help to colonize it. The knights arriving in Chwarszczany probably came from the preceptory of Oleśnica Mała, located around 320 km to the south-east.

Around 1234, the Prince of Szczecin, Barnim I(3), gave the Knights Templar of Chwarszczany 200 łan near Dargomyśl and in 1241, Boleslaw II Łysy(4), Prince of Silesia, gave them the villages of Lubno and Oborzany.

In the middle of the 13th century, the properties located in Chwarszczany were under the domination of the Brandenburg Margraves(5) and their relations with the Templars were strained. The Margraves demanded that the Templars give them some of their property. In 1261, they reached an agreement stipulating that the Templars renounce their rights to villages located near the road from Kostrzyn to Gorzˇw and to the preceptory of Myślibórz. In exchange, they received confirmation of their rights on the domains of Chwarszczany and ten villages that depend on them and also receive the rights on the village of Kaleńsko.

Sketch of the implantation of the preceptory - http://www.templariusze.org
Sketch of the implantation of the preceptory
Source : http://www.templariusze.org

Over time, relations with the Brandenburg Margraves improved because in 1286, Otto VI(6) was admitted to the Order in Chwarszczany, which then grew in importance. In the 1290's, the preceptor of Chwarszczany, Bernhard von Eberstein (or Everstein), also served as Preceptor of Poland, New March (Neumark), Bohemia and Moravia.

The latest information about the Templars of Chwarszczany concerned the sale of the village of Cychry (Zicher) to the burghers of Frankfurt in 1308.

The preceptory of Chwarszczany is built on a small hill in a bend of the river Myśla.
Around the middle of the 13th century, on the north-western side of the land, the chapel was built in granite and in Romanesque style. It was built on a rectangular plan with the choir on the east side.

In the years 1290, the chapel was destroyed and in its place a new one was built as it can still be seen today. Of the old chapel there only remains the base of the western part with the entrance portal. The granite was reused to build the base of the new Gothic building.

The new chapel was also built on a rectangular plan and closed on the east side by a pentagonal apse. The interior was covered by a rib vault supported on capitals located between the long and narrow windows. Two brick niches have been inserted in the east and south walls of the choir. The first served as a seat and in the second one the hosts were kept.

The plan of the chapel
The plan of the chapel

On the outside, the entire construction is reinforced by massive buttresses. The fašade is flanked by two cylindrical towers topped by a dome. Between the two towers there is a stone portal and above it a window with an infill. At the beginning of the 14th century, the interior was covered with Gothic paintings. In the south wall can be seen halfway along its length the old portal now walled.

After the fall of the Order, all its possessions passed into the hands of the Hospitallers, including the preceptory of Chwarszczany.
Around the middle of the 14th century, the Hospitallers renovated the altar of St. Catherine and St. John the Evangelist and later enriched it with paintings depicting the apostles and holy virgins.

In 1540, the Margrave John of Kostrzyń(7) transferred the headquarters of the preceptory of the Order of the Hospital to Świdwin. The chapel in Chwarszczany was transformed into a Protestant church, dependent on the one in Cychry.

In 1758, during the Battle of Sarbinowo(8), all the buildings of the preceptory of Chwarszczany were destroyed and the chapel badly damaged. But it was rebuilt two years later.

In the 19th century, the sacristy was added on the north side and the plaster was removed from the walls, uncovering the paintings of the Middle Ages, which were immediately put to renovation. After the 2nd World War, in 1948, the chapel reverted to the Catholic Church. The old paintings were covered with whitewash.

Between 2004 and 2008, archaeological excavations were undertaken on the site, as well as renovation and conservation work.

Notes :

(1)Władysław Odonic is a Duke (Prince) of Wielkopolska from the Piast dynasty. He was born around 1190 and died on 05 June 1239. He is the son of Odon of Poznań and Wyszesława of Halicz.

(2)A "łan" represented an area of between 17 and 24 hectares depending on the region.

(3)Barnim I is a Duke (Prince) of Szczeczin and Pomerania of the Gryfici (Griffins) dynasty. He was born around 1210, became Prince of Szczeczin around 1220 after his father's death and Prince of Pomerania around 1264. He died at Dąbie in November 1278. He is the son of Duke Bogusław II of Pomerania and of Mirosława of Gdańsk.

(4)Bolesław II Łysy (the Bald) also called Bolesłas II Rogatka is a Duke of Silesia and part of Wielkopolska of the Piast Dynasty. He was born around 1220 and is the son of Henryk II Pobożny (Henry II the Pious) and Anna Przemyślidka (Anne of Bohemia). He became a duke on the death of his father at the battle of Legnica on April 9, 1241. He died on 26 December 1278.

(5)Between 1220 and 1266, the Brandenburg March was led jointly by brothers John I and Otto III, who came from the powerful House of Ascania. In 1259, they jointly decided to divide their estate into two parts, with John inheriting the Altmark (Old March) in the west and Otto inheriting the Neumark (New March) in the east.

(6)Otto VI of Brandenburg (der Kleine) was born around 15 November 1264 and died on 6 July 1303. He was Margrave of Brandenburg (Neumark) from 1280 to 1286. He was the fourth son of Otto III of Brandenburg and Beatrice of Bohemia (Božena Ceská), the daughter of the Bohemian king Wenceslas the Borgne (Vßclav I). He abdicated in 1286 after his wife's death to become a Knight of the Order of the Temple and then became a Cistercian monk at Lehnin Abbey, where he was buried at his death in 1303.

(7)John I of Brandenburg-KŘstrin, also known as John of Hohenzollern, was Margrave of Brandenburg-KŘstrin from 1535 to 1571. He is the son of Joachim I Nestor of Brandenburg and Elisabeth of Denmark, daughter of King John I of Denmark. When he died in 1571, his estate was reunited with Brandenburg.

(8)Sarbinowo is a small village 6 km south of Chwarszczany. On August 25, 1758, the village was the scene of a bloody battle of the Seven Years' War between Prussian troops commanded by the Prussian King Frederick II and Russian troops commanded by Count Villim Villimovich Fermor.

    


Bibliography
  1. "Zakony rycerskie"
    Edward Potkowski ; Wojskowa Drukarnia 1995
  2. "Henryk Brodaty i Jego Czasy"
    Benedykt Zientara ; Trio 1997
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
ę Templiers.org 1997-2020

La commanderie de Chwarszczany

Textes originaux de Błażej Skaziński : Projet Szlak Templariuszy

Traduction : Agnieszka Staf

La chapelle de Chwarszczany
Diaporama en bas de page
Pologne, Województwo Zachodnio Pomorskie

Pologne, Voïvodie de Poméranie Occidentale (Województwo Zachodniopomorskie), à 45 Km à l'ouest de Gorzów Wielkopolski, à 12 Km au nord de Kostrzyń, à 100 km à l'est de Berlin (Allemagne).

En 1232, les Templiers obtiennent de Władysław Odonicz(1), prince de Grande Pologne, 1000 łan(2) de terres dans la région de Kostrzyn, près du village de Chwarszczany, dans un virage du fleuve Myśla.

Zone d'implantation des domaines templiers dans l'ouest de la Pologne actuelle - © Agnès Staf
Zone d'implantation (carré bleu) des domaines templiers dans l'ouest de la Pologne actuelle - © Agnès Staf

Les Templiers s'installent alors dans cette région située à la frontière entre la Poméranie, la Grande Pologne et la Marche de Brandebourg, pour des raisons militaires. Ils doivent la défendre, la pacifier et aider à la coloniser. Les chevaliers qui arrivent à Chwarszczany proviennent sans doute de la commanderie de Oleśnica Mała, située à environ 320 km au sud-est.

Vers 1234, le prince de Szczecin, Barnim Ier(3), donne aux Templiers de Chwarszczany 200 łan près de Dargomyśl et en 1241, Bolesław II Łysy(4), prince de Silésie, leur donne les villages de Lubno et Oborzany.

A la moitié du 13ème siècle, les biens situés à Chwarszczany se trouvent sous la domination des Margraves de Brandebourg(5) et les relations qu'ils ont avec les Templiers sont tendues. Les margraves exigent que les Templiers leurs cèdent certains de leurs biens. En 1261, ils parviennent à un accord stipulant que les Templiers renoncent à leurs droits sur des villages situés près de la route de Kostrzyn à Gorzów et à la commanderie de Myślibórz. En échange, ils reçoivent la confirmation de leurs droits sur les domaines de Chwarszczany et de dix villages qui en dépendent et reçoivent en plus les droits sur le village de Kaleńsko.

croquis de l'implantation de la commanderie - http://www.templariusze.org
Croquis de l'implantation de la commanderie
Source : http://www.templariusze.org

Avec le temps, les relations avec les margraves de Brandebourg s'améliorent car en 1286, Otton VI(6), est admis dans l'Ordre à Chwarszczany, qui gagne alors en importance. Dans les années 1290, le commandeur de Chwarszczany, Bernhard von Eberstein (ou Everstein), exerce aussi la fonction de précepteur de Pologne, de la Nouvelle Marche (Neumark), de Bohème et de Moravie.

La dernière information sur les Templiers de Chwarszczany concerne la vente du village de Cychry (Zicher) aux bourgeois de Frankfort en 1308.

La commanderie de Chwarszczany est construite sur une petite colline dans un virage du fleuve Myśla.
Vers la moitié du 13ème siècle, du coté nord-ouest du terrain, on construit la chapelle romane en granit. Elle est érigée sur base d'un plan rectangulaire avec le chœur du coté est.

Dans les années 1290, elle est détruite et à sa place on construit la chapelle telle qu'on peut encore la voir aujourd'hui. De l'ancienne chapelle il ne reste que la base de la partie ouest avec le portail d'entrée. Le granit a été réutilisé pour construire la base du nouveau bâtiment gothique.

La nouvelle chapelle est également construite sur base du plan rectangulaire et fermée du coté est par une abside pentagonale. L'intérieur est couvert par une voûte en croisée d'ogives appuyée sur des chapiteaux situés entre les fenêtres étroites et longues. Dans les murs est et sud du chœur, on a inséré deux niches de briques. La première servait comme siège et dans la deuxième, on gardait les hosties.

Le plan de la chapelle
Le plan de la chapelle

A l'extérieur, toute la construction est renforcée par des contreforts massifs. La façade est encadrée par deux tours cylindriques surmontées d'une coupole. Entre les deux tours, se trouve un portail de pierre et au dessus, une fenêtre à remplage. Au début du 14ème siècle, l'intérieur est couvert de peintures gothiques. Dans le mur sud, à la moitié de sa longueur, on peut voir l'ancien portail aujourd'hui muré.

Après la chute de l'Ordre des Templiers, tous ses biens passent dans les mains des Hospitaliers, la commanderie de Chwarszczany y compris.
Vers la moitié du 14ème siècle, les Hospitaliers rénovent l'autel de Saint Catherine et de Saint Jean l'Evangéliste et ensuite, ils l'enrichissent en y ajoutant des peintures qui représentent les apôtres et les vierges saintes.

En 1540, le margrave Jean de Kostrzyń(7) transfère le siège de la commanderie hospitalière à Świdwin. La chapelle de Chwarszczany est transformée en église protestante, dépendante de celle de Cychry.

En 1758, pendant la bataille de Sarbinowo(8), tous les bâtiments de la commanderie de Chwarszczany sont détruits et la chapelle gravement abîmée, mais elle sera reconstruite deux ans plus tard.

Au 19ème siècle, on ajoute la sacristie du coté nord et on enlève l'enduit des murs en découvrant les peintures du Moyen-Age qui sont tout de suite mises en chantier de rénovation. Après la 2ème guerre mondiale, en 1948, la chapelle revient à l'église catholique. Les peintures anciennes sont recouvertes de badigeon.

Entre 2004 et 2008, des fouilles archéologiques ont été entreprises sur le site, ainsi que des travaux de rénovation et de conservation.

Notes :

(1)Władysław Odonic est un Duc (Prince) de Grande-Pologne de la dynastie des Piast. Il nait vers 1190 et meurt le 05 juin 1239. Il est le fils de Odon de Poznań et de Wyszesława de Halicz.

(2)un "łan" représentait, selon les régions, une superficie comprise entre 17 et 24 hectares.

(3)Barnim I is a Duke (Prince) of Szczeczin and Pomerania of the Gryfici (Griffins) dynasty. He was born around 1210, became Prince of Szczeczin around 1220 after his father's death and Prince of Pomerania around 1264. He died at Dabie in November 1278. He is the son of Duke Boguslaw II of Pomerania and of Miroslawa of Gdansk. Barnim 1er est un Duc (Prince) de Szczeczin et de Poméranie de la dynastie des Gryfici (Griffins, Griffons). Il nait vers 1210, devient prince de Szczeczin vers 1220 à la mort de son père et prince de Poméranie vers 1264. Il meurt à Dąbie en novembre 1278. Il est le fils du Duc Bogusław II de Poméranie et de Mirosława de Gdańsk.

(4)Bolesław II Łysy (le Chauve) appelé aussi Bolesłas II Rogatka est un Duc de Silésie et d'une partie de Grande-Pologne de la dynastie des Piast. Il nait vers 1220. Il est le fils de Henryk II Pobożny (Henri II le Pieux) et de Anna Przemyślidka (Anne de Bohême). Il devient duc à la mort de son père lors de la bataille de Legnica, le 09 avril 1241. Il meurt le 26 décembre 1278.

(5)Entre 1220 et 1266, la Marche de Brandebourg est dirigée conjointement par les frères Jean 1er et Othon III, issus de la puissante Maison d'Ascanie. En 1259, ils décident conjointement de diviser leur domaine en 2 parties, Jean héritant de "la Altmark" (Ancienne Marche), située à l'ouest, tandis qu'Othon héritera de la "Neumark" (Nouvelle Marche), située à l'est.

(6)Othon VI de Brandebourg (der Kleine) est né vers le 15 novembre 1264 et meurt le 6 juillet 1303. Il est margrave de Brandebourg (Neumark) de 1280 à 1286. Il est le 4ème fils de Othon III de Brandebourg et de Beatrice de Bohême (Božena Ceská), la fille du roi de Bohême Venceslas le Borgne (Václav I). Il abdique en 1286 après la mort de son épouse pour devenir chevalier de l'Ordre du Temple et devient ensuite moine cistercien à l'abbaye de Lehnin où il est inhumé à sa mort en 1303.

(7)Jean 1er de Brandebourg-Küstrin, appelé aussi Jean de Hohenzollern est margrave de Brandebourg-Küstrin de 1535 à 1571. Il est le fils de Joachim 1er Nestor de Brandebourg et de Élisabeth de Danemark, fille du roi Jean 1er de Danemark. A sa mort en 1571, son domaine est réuni au Brandebourg.

(8)Sarbinowo est un petit village situé à 6 km au sud de Chwarszczany. Le 25 août 1758, ce village fut le théâtre d'une sanglante bataille de la Guerre de 7 Ans, entre d'une part les troupes prussiennes commandées par le Roi de Prusse Frédéric II et d'autre part les troupes russes commandées par le comte Villim Villimovitch Fermor.

    


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Zakony rycerskie"
    Edward Potkowski ; Wojskowa Drukarnia 1995
  2. "Henryk Brodaty i Jego Czasy"
    Benedykt Zientara ; Trio 1997
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 1997-2020