The preceptory of Maryculter

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

Great Britain, Scotland, Aberdeenshire

Great Britain, Scotland, Aberdeenshire, around 15 km south-west of Aberdeen, village of Maryculter.

Little is known about the exact origin of the creation of a Templar preceptory in Maryculter. It is known that the first donation of land was made by the King of Scotland William I the Lion, probably towards the end of his reign, at the beginning of the 13th century. But it was not until a few more years, probably around 1230, when Walter Byset(1), Lord of Aboyne made a substantial donation of land to the Order, some historians speak of about 8000 acres(2), that there is talk of the establishment of a preceptory in Maryculter.

Most of the estate of Maryculter's house was along the right bank of the River Dee, in a loop of the river, north of the village. But a part of their land was on the other side of the river, attached to the village of Peterculter.

After building a bridge to connect the two parts of their estate, the Templars were taken to court by the monks of Kelso(3), who saw the construction of this bridge as an attack on their income from religious services at Peterculter. After long trials, a parish was finally created in Maryculter and in compensation the Knights Templar had to pay the monks of Kelso an annual royalty.

Notes :

(1)Walter Byset was a Scottish lord of Norman origin. He was born around the beginning of the 13th century. Through his marriage with Ada of Galloway in 1233, he entered the family of the powerful lords of the eponymous region in the south-west of Scotland. In the early 1230s, he began the construction of a motte-and-bailey castle in Aboyne, about 40 km west of Maryculter. In 1242, he had to flee Scotland and take refuge in Ireland because he was accused of the murder of one of his cousins, Patrick (Padraig) of Atholl. He was captured in 1248 by the son of the latter, Allan of Atholl and banished to the Isle of Arran where he died in 1251.

(2)The acre is an old surface measurement unit. One acre was worth about 2 jugers (working day with an ox), that is to say between 40 and 50 ares.

(3)Kelso Abbey was founded in the early 12th century by monks from Thiron Abbey in France. Construction of the original abbey began in 1128 and was completed in 1143. The abbey quickly grew to become one of the richest and most important in Scotland.

    


Bibliography
  1. "The Knights Templar in Britain"
    Evelyn Lord ; Routledge, 2013
  2. "Scottish History Society publications Volume 19 : Knights of St John of Jerusalem in Scotland" (Link to the Scottish History Society )
    Cowan, Mackay & Macquarrie ; Scottish History Society, 1983
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2020

La commanderie de Maryculter

Pas de galerie photo disponible

Royaume-Uni, Ecosse

Grande-Bretagne, Ecosse, Aberdeenshire, à environ 15 km au sud-ouest d'Aberdeen, village de Maryculter.

On connait peu de chose sur l'origine exacte de la création d'une commanderie templière à Maryculter. On sait que la première donation de terres a été faite par le roi d'Ecosse Guillaume Ier le Lion, sans doute vers la fin de son règne, au début du 13ème siècle. Mais il faudra attendre quelques années de plus, sans doute vers 1230, lorsque Walter Byset(1), Lord d'Aboyne fait un don conséquent de terres à l'Ordre, certains historiens parlent d'environ 8000 acres(2), pour qu'on parle de l'établissement d'une commanderie à Maryculter.

La majeure partie du domaine de la maison de Maryculter se trouvait le long de la rive droite du fleuve Dee, dans une boucle de celui-ci, au nord du village. Mais une partie de leurs terres se trouvait de l'autre côté du fleuve, dépendant du village de Peterculter.

Après avoir construit un pont pour relier les deux morceaux de leur domaine, les Templiers se sont vus assignés en justice par les moines de Kelso(3), qui voyaient la construction de ce pont comme une atteinte à leurs revenus issus des offices religieux à Peterculter. Après de longs procès, une paroisse a finalement été créée à Maryculter et en compensation les Templiers ont du verser aux moines de Kelso une redevance annuelle.

Notes :

(1)Walter Byset est un seigneur écossais d'origine normande. Il nait vers le début du 13ème siècle. Par son mariage avec Ada de Galloway en 1233, il entre dans la famille des puissants seigneurs de la région éponyme située au sud-ouest de l'Ecosse. Au début des années 1230, il entreprend la construction d'une motte féodale à Aboyne, située à environ 40 km à l'ouest de Maryculter. En 1242, il doit fuir l'Ecosse et se réfugier en Irlande car il est accusé du meurtre d'un de ses cousins, Patrick(Padraig) d'Atholl. Il est capturé en 1248 par le fils de ce dernier,Allan d'Atholl et banni sur l'Île d'Arran où il meurt en 1251.

(2)L'acre est une ancienne unité de mesure de surface. Une acre valait environ 2 jugères (journée de travail avec un boeuf), c'est à dire entre 40 et 50 ares.

(3)L'abbaye de Kelso a été fondée au début du 12ème siècle par des moines venus de l'abbaye de Thiron en France. La construction de l'abbaye primitive commence en 1128 pour se terminer en 1143. L'abbaye prend rapidement de l'essor pour devenir l'une des plus riches et importantes d'Ecosse.

    


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "The Knights Templar in Britain"
    Evelyn Lord ; Routledge, 2013
  2. "Scottish History Society publications Volume 19 : Knights of St John of Jerusalem in Scotland" (lien sur la Scottish History Society )
    Cowan, Mackay & Macquarrie ; Scottish History Society, 1983
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 1997-2020